Thursday, November 22, 2012

Stupid NFL Rule Costs Lions The Game

This just does not make any sense:
Later, Houston's Justin Forsett scored on an 81-yard touchdown run in the third quarter, even though replays clearly showed his knee touching the ground around his own 25-yard-line.
It appeared Detroit coach Jim Schwartz helped the touchdown stand by throwing his challenge flag.
The TD counted and Detroit was called for unsportsmanlike conduct. A Lions spokesman said a coach is not allowed to challenge a scoring play, which is automatically reviewed -- and if the coach does throw a challenge flag, the automatic review is negated.
So, if there is a questionable call and actually in this case a very bad call, and it results in a score, there is an automatic review.  But if a coach challenges the play before the review, apparently they get a penalty and they don't get a review, and the terrible call stands?
Does that make sense?
Here is the video:

No comments:

Post a Comment